You are::/News/
24 04, 2017

May 2017 by-election

April 24th, 2017|News & Events|0 Comments

UPDATE: 24-05-2017 – Outcome of nominations & ticket registration

Swinburne Student Union is seeking nominations from students for vacant positions on the Student’s Council for 2017. These positions are eligible to receive honoraria (see the table below).

To nominate, fill in the online form at before 5pm on Friday 12th May.

Candidates may choose to organise together under a common banner (a ticket). Tickets are for the purpose of group identification only. If you choose to register a ticket, the candidates on that ticket will have the ticket name printed next to their name on the ballot paper. If you would like to register a ticket, please organise for your registering officer (which must be one of the candidates) to fill out this online form:

Note that all candidates on a ticket will be required to email the Returning Officer directly at to confirm that they consent to being on that ticket. It is the responsibility of the registering officer and the candidate to ensure that the ticket registration form and confirmation emails are completed. No candidates will be listed as being on a ticket without a confirmation email.


Committee Position Suggested hours per week Eligible honoraria Eligibility requirements
Education Officer 25 $8,000 Must have been enrolled at SUT for at least one contiguous semester within previous two semesters
Croydon Campus Chair 15 $4,000 Must be studying primarily at Croydon for the following Teaching Period
Wantirna Campus Chair 15 $4,000 Must be studying primarily at Wantirna for the following Teaching Period
Women’s Officer 15 $4,000 Must identify as a Woman

Position descriptions:
Education Board


Nominations open:                Monday 1st May, 2017, 9:00am
Nominations close:                Friday 12th May, 2017, 5:00pm 

Polling place:                         Hawthorn TBA, Wantirna (WB)1, Croydon (CF)1
Polling dates:                         24th May & 25th May (Hawthorn), 26th May (Outer campuses) 1
Polling times:                         9:30am to 12:30pm and 1:30pm to 4:30pm

1 Croydon and Wantirna polling will only be open if there are candidates from those campuses nominated.

Students at Croydon or Wantirna and students studying Online can register for a postal ballot by contacting the Returning Officer at before 5pm on Friday 12th May 2017. The email must include your name, student number and postal address.

7 04, 2017

Second ballot for DMI Rep on Ed Board

April 7th, 2017|News & Events|0 Comments

UPDATE 13/4/2017:

The results of the ballot were:

Ash Erben 2
Andy Tran 1

Ash Erben is declared duly elected.

Due to the recent tied ballot for the Department of Design, Media & ICT Representative on Education Board, a second ballot will be held at Swinburne University of Technology Hawthorn (UN Building Level 4) on Monday 10th April & Wednesday 12th April from 9:30am to 12:30pm and 1:30pm to 4:30pm each day. To vote, present at UN Level 4 during those times with your student card. All students who study in the Department of Media, ICT & Design in PAVE can vote (not just Student Union members).

30 03, 2017

March 2017 by-election results

March 30th, 2017|News & Events|0 Comments

By-election results

The results for the March 2017 by-election are below. All the listed candidates are declared duly elected. Note that this list includes candidates who were elected unopposed.

Education Public Affairs Officer (Council)
Akbar Syed (EVOLVE)

People of Colour Representative (Council)
Tarek ElMaghrabi (EMPOWER)

Indigenous Representative (Council)
Neane Carter (EMPOWER)

General Representative (Council)
Letisia Cherian

Media Committee Editor
Felix McPhie (EMPOWER)

Swinburne International Students’ Association (SISA) Committee Member
1. Param Mahal (EVOLVE)
2. Leticia Cherian

Queer Representative (Welfare Board)
Nikki Nievaart (EMPOWER)

There was a tie for the position of Department of Design, Media & ICT Representative. As per the Regulations another by-election will be held where the only nominees eligible to run are the candidates who ran in the first by-election (being Ash Erben & Andy Tran). Information will be posted about this in the coming days.

The full count and distribution report can be downloaded here.